Home > Site Design > First Impressions…

First Impressions…

The dreaded first post… I was originally going to go with Test1, Test2, but I’m fairly certain WordPress is working just fine. How bout a todo list instead? Yay!

About
– Write About John Section
– Write About Comp Native Section

Profile Pic
– Yeah, I should probably have one of those

Links
– Share resources and stuff. Aw, what a nice guy 🙂

Content
– Boy, wouldn’t that be nice?
– I mean, workin on it…

Categories: Site Design
  1. June 9, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Great goals – who care’s if it’s ‘tail end’. Round 3 is coming up!! I don’t have a lot of space in our schedule for drawing time, myself, but it does feed the writing process. One of the VERY prolific writers on ROW 80 (C.M. Stewart) has been working “The Artists Way” program – try to check in with her progress and what she’s got out of it. (If you haven’t worked it yourself, that is.) Good luck to you – the reason I mentioned the Artists Way is that when you have the ‘I don’t care’s’, working someone else’s fool schedule can fool you into getting stuff ‘done’. I’m sure other folks would like to see your solutions to the mini-slump.

    Good luck to you and welcome aboard!

  2. June 9, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Thanks Shari! Yes, I went through the Artist Way process last summer, a dancer friend of mine recommended it to me. I had a lot of success with it and it helped me kick-off several projects. Somewhere around the holidays I think I fell off the wagon, stopped doing morning pages, became very critical of myself, etc. Then I coached my sons little league baseball team and for three months it was nothing but stress and emails and ugh, misery. So, I’m trying to get back in the groove again.

    Part of my problem is that I do not yet ‘live’ like an artist. You’re right to say “getting stuff done,” because my art, unfortunately, has become just another thing on my todo list. That’s partly why I want to draw every day, to remind myself constantly that this is who I am, ya know?

    Thanks again for your comment, much appreciated 🙂

    John

  3. June 9, 2011 at 11:25 am

    You are welcome 🙂

    I have to say parenthood is always the priority around my place – happily, things that feed the parent’s psyche tend to help us be better parents! The thought ‘live like an artist’ – as romantic as it is, is Slightly over rated for me – I lived that way in my twenties and honestly, I missed eating a Lot! 😉 Okay – I simplified that – but. When you feel down about not living as much of an artist life as you want, there’s a few other ways to look at it.

    Many parts of life can – and should – incorporate an artistic way of doing things, but I think what you are getting at is prioritizing blocks of time for artistic work. I’ve yet to see a one-size-fits-all solution, but when I go through this same struggle, I end up writing down goals or ‘visions’ of what I think the artistic life looks like. “More time for Art” gets me Nowhere. “Monthly sketching trip to Arboretum” is attainable and fulfilling. So is “taking kids for drawing day” to the Institute of Arts – but being honest about it – ie, I’ll be helping the kids and getting Nothing done myself. They get more appreciation for art, and we have family time.

    Your visions of the artistic life are yours – and turning the visions into goals in your blog is not the worst way to track it. As a fellow parent and artist I congratulate you for pursuing your artistic life – and for the bravery of doing it IN PUBLIC, Digitally! Kudos all around, and, er, please make a point of posting your sketches. It’s one more way to fire yourself up about it. Cheers to you!

  4. June 9, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Well said Shari, thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

