Home > Uncategorized > A ROW80 / Post Comicon Update

A ROW80 / Post Comicon Update

ROW80 update for 7/27/11, wow, what happened to July? I swear this month has just flown by. So this week I am happy to report that I finished scripting Act 1 of my graphic novel, yay! So happy about that, setting everything up was really starting to weigh on me. Really looking forward to working on supporting characters, subplots, etc.

Last week I sent my 5 page Future Shock script (see previous post) to a friend for proofing. I am fortunate to have befriended Ben Schwartz, owner of Empire Comic Vault in Sacramento, CA. If ever in Sacto check them out, Ben’s a great guy. Ben also writes and self-publishes his own comics under ECVPress, which I hope to possibly mirror some day, so getting his take on my work was pretty cool. He replied to my script with some great feedback that I plan to sit down and go through today, before finalizing and submitting to 2000AD.

As far as the goal to write a poem a week, still a WIP. But I write poetry for fun so no pressure there.

Check-in on the rest of the ROW80 gang here

San Diego Comicon was CRAZY last weekend! If you want spectacle, hordes of people, and the longest lines you’ve ever seen, San Diego Comicon is the place to be. I know a guy who stood in line 4 hours for the Game of Thrones panel and still didn’t get in, crazy! Long story short, there was no networking or work accomplished at all, we just had fun taking in the spectacle of the whole thing. If you want to show your work or talk to creators, I recommend a smaller con like Wondercon or APE in San Francisco, which are both great.

I have to say we had a blast with my daughter’s cosplay though. She went as Katniss from The Hunger Games and was mobbed all day with people asking for her picture. We even got a movie replica mockingjay pin from The Lionsgate booth that really set her costume off. She had such a good time with it.

Click my daughter’s picture to link to the reference photos of Jennifer Lawrence I used to make her costume. You can also click the photo of the pin for a link to the article showing the Lionsgate Comicon booth promo.

This is what makes SD Comicon great, it’s so crowded but there are tons of ways to make your own fun. If you go, have some people in your group dress up and really make the most of it. We even went into the game room and played a couple of board games to escape the crowds. So although overwhelming at times, we made some lasting memories and it really was a great father/daughter trip.

Ok, long enough post I think, back to work people!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 27, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Woot, congratulations on getting some great feedback and making progress on your goals! And I have to say, your daughter’s costume is AWESOME.

  2. July 27, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Thanks Lisey, glad you like it đŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

